NYX Total Control Drop Foundation

Hi loves,

I trust you all are enjoying the warmer weather, I sure am. Let’s get straight to business. I have been receiving requests to review this foundation before NYX even launched this foundation in SA. So of course I have you covered with a video review here and a blog post.20170915_1630141

First things first, foundation claims from the NYX website:

“From sheer to full, your ideal coverage is just drops away with our new Total Control Drop Foundation! Fine-tune this velvety, matte foundation with the included dropper. Simply adjust the number of drops until you create the look you’re feelin’ today. Want more coverage? Add more drops!”

20170915_163409nyx20170915_163152

I think this foundation is really genius as you can get the coverage you desire with one bottle of foundation. The shade range is insane and I definitely think that they did a great job accommodating brown girls. Lord knows how the drugstore brands love neglecting us. Anyhoo, I finally got my hands on this baby at the Pro Beauty Expo. I had to wait in a line at NYX but it was all worth it. This retails for R220 for 13mls of product.

Application:

The way this foundation applies is like nothing I’ve ever experienced before. It literally disappears into the skin as you blend it away. It is super lightweight and it feels like you’re not wearing any foundation. It blends in better with a brush than a sponge. I have the shade Golden Honey which is an exact match to my NC44.5 complexion. I noticed that this foundation looks really good by itself on my very blemished skin. It does not emphasize my pores however, it does stick to dry patches and settles into fine lines. I have dry, healing skin from my breakouts and this foundation looks so dry and dehydrated in the areas of my face that aren’t oily. Now this is the weirdest thing, no matter what primer I use this with, I get shiny quicker. I’ve tried my MAC original Strobe cream (which works fabulously under Estee Lauder Double Wear), Maybelline Babyskin Instant Pore Eraser and even Loreal Infallible Mattifying Base. And nothing seems to keep this foundation as matte as when it is used on its own.

BeFunky Collagej

Now for some pros and cons:

Pros

  • this foundation stays matte on my skin for up to 6.5 hours
  • applies seemlessly
  • good undertone
  • lightweight

Cons

  • makes my non-oily areas look dehydrated
  • only 13ml of product
  • settles into fine lines
  • sticks to dry patches

Now while I love this foundation for my oily areas and for when I want to multi-foundation my face, I don’t think this foundation will be my go to unless I prime my non-oily areas with a really good moisturising primer, my MAC Strobe creams works pretty well. I will use this foundation more as my skin clears and I will definitely update this post but for now my final verdict is that it works wonders for oily skin and I would say that people with dry skin either need to prime really well or skip on this foundation altogether.

Have you tried this foundation yet? Do you think its worth it for R220 for 13ml?

Until the next one – Don’t forget to Slay, All Day, Err’Day, With & Without Makeup,

Sanesh

One thought on “NYX Total Control Drop Foundation

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑